2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Test Series | 2nd Test | Australia v India | From the GABBA | Day 4

2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Series | 2nd Test
Australia v India
From the GABBA
India won the toss, elected to BAT first.
India 408 (109.4) & 224 (64.3)
Australia 505 (109.4) & 6/130 (23.1)
Australia wins by 4 wickets | Lead the series 2-0
Man of the Match | Steven Smith
#ZakSportsAU | #Cricket | #AUSvIND

For the second time in a week, India have capitulated in the second innings of a Test Match, and handed victory to Australia on a silver platter.

Hello everyone. Welcome to the GABBA, where Australia have a 2-0 lead in the 4-match series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, after claiming a four wicket win here earlier today in the 2nd Test.

India started the day at 1/71, but by lunch, they’d crumbled to be 7/157, after Starc, Lyon, Johnson and Hazlewood ripped through the Indian batting line-up.

Shikhar Dhawan was the only highlight in a dismal batting performance, scoring 81 off 145 balls, but that was an Innings in two parts. With the score of 1/71, Dhawan retired hurt, but would return to the crease with the score at 6/117, which left him with plenty of work to do.
Meanwhile, Yadav picked up 30 valuable runs, as the tail showed some resistance for the first time in this series, but all in all, the scorecard made for very sorry reading if you were an Indian supporter.

What should’ve been a five-day game quickly turned into one that would be completed inside four, as India were rolled for 224, leaving Australia a target of just 128 for victory.

India | 2nd Innings | 224 (64.3)
Vijay | b Starc | 27 (39) | FOW 1/41 (10.3)
Kohli | b Johnson | 1 (11) | FOW 2/76 (26.1)
Rahane | c Lyon, b Johnson | 10 (8) | FOW 3/86 (28.3)
R Sharma | c Haddin, b Johnson | 0 (2) | FOW 4/86 (28.5)
Dhoni | LBW, b Hazlewood | 0 (2) | FOW 5/87 (29.2)
Ashwin | c Haddin, b Starc | 19 (29) | FOW 6/117 (36.4)
Pujara | c Lyon, b Hazlewood | 43 (93) | FOW 7/143 (44.4)
Dhawan | LBW, b Lyon | 81 (145) | FOW 8/203 (59.1)
Aaron | c Hazlewood, b Lyon | 3 (9) | FOW 9/211 (61.2)
Yadav | c Haddin, b Johnson | 30 (42) | FOW 10/224 (64.3)
I Sharma | not out | 1* (9)

Mitchell Johnson was the best of the Australian bowlers with 4/61 from 17.3 overs, while Lyon, Starc and Hazlewood all picked up two each. Shane Watson was the only bowler not to get amongst the wickets.

He didn’t get amongst the runs either. Australia have a rich history of making difficult work of a small run chase, and today was no exception.

David Warner was struck on the thumb by a fast delivery from Yadav, and he never looked comfortable after that.
Ishant Sharma would dismiss him in the fifth over, and he was on his way for 6.
Shane Watson shouldn’t have bothered coming to the middle, as he returned to the dressing room without troubling the scorers… he tried to get under a short-pitched delivery from Ishant Sharma, but sent it skyward, straight into the hands of MS Dhoni, and it was 2/22.
Chris Rogers was brilliant, in scoring 55 at nearly a run a ball, before he too fell to Ishant Sharma.
Steven Smith had his first misfire of the series… only scoring 28 before he was run out.
Shaun Marsh contributed 18, and Brad Haddin only score a single, and when he went, it was 6/122, and India were fighting hard, but thankfully for Australia, Mitchell Marsh and Mitchell Johnson soon put an end to the nonsense, scoring the winning runs to take a 2-0 lead.

Australia | 6/130 [TARGET: 128] (23.1)
Warner | c Dhoni, b I Sharma | 6 (12) | FOW 1/18 (4.1)
Watson | c Dhoni, b I Sharma | 0 (8) | FOW 2/22 (6.3)
Rogers | c Dhawan, b I Sharma | 55 (57) | FOW 3/85 (16.2)
S Marsh | c Dhoni, b Yadav | 17 (17) | 4/114 (20.4)
Smith | run out (Yadav) | 28 (39) | FOW 5/122 (21.2)
Haddin | c Kohli, b Yadav | 1 (2) | FOW 6/122 (22.1)
M Marsh | not out | 6* (7)
Johnson | not out | 2* (3)

Ishant Sharma was the best of the bowlers, picking up 3/38 in 9, but it was to no avail… the Aussies have a 2-0 lead, as their new captain took Man of the Match honours.

An incredible performance from the Australian Team, led by Mitchell Johnson’s bowling performance on the fourth morning, and now all eyes will be on the Melbourne Cricket Ground, as Australia go about reclaiming the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
We can’t wait for Boxing Day. We know you’re looking forward to it as well… one of the great occasions in Australian sport, as Victorians will flock to the hallowed MCG, and their favourite son, Bill Lawry will return to the Commentary Box.

2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Series | 3rd Test
Australia v India
LIVE from the MCG
Friday December 26
9:30am AEDST

Looking forward to it immensely.
Hope you enjoyed the second test at the GABBA. Australia were brilliant, and India started well, but just like Adelaide, they couldn’t finish it off.

Australia have a 2-0 lead, and they very much deserve it. Until Boxing Day, a happy Christmas. Goodbye!

Leave a Comment