2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Test Series | 3rd Test | Australia v India | From the MCG | Day 5

2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Test Series | 3rd Test | Australia v India | From the MCG | Day 5

2014-15 Commonwealth Bank Series | 3rd Test
Australia v India
From the Melbourne Cricket Ground
Australia won the toss, elected to bat first.
Australia 530 (142.3) & 9/318 declared (98)
India 465 (128.5) | 6/174 (66)
Australia lead the series 2-0 | Regain Border-Gavaskar Trophy
Man of the Match | Ryan Harris
#ZakSportsAU | #Cricket | #AUSvIND

Zak Sports Media apologises for the our inability to provide rolling coverage from the MCG on Day 5 of the third test.
We experienced some technical difficulties, which left us without an internet connection until hours after the close of play.
Now that we are back online, please enjoy our wrap-up of the day below!

We have breaking news tonight from the Melbourne Cricket Ground… Indian Captain M. S. Dhoni has announced his retirement from Test Cricket EFFECTIVE IMMEDIATELY!

It comes after the third Commonwealth Bank Test Match between Australia and India ended in a draw here at the Melbourne Cricket Ground earlier today, which ensures that Australia regain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy!

Australia resumed at 7/261, with a lead of 326, and would get through a rain disrupted session, to be 9/318 at LUNCH, with 70 overs left to be bowled in the day… that’s when they decided to declare, and now that we can look back, a few people will say Steve Smith left it too late, but they only needed a draw to secure the series, and they used that to their advantage, knowing India had to win, to bat them out of the game!

Shaun Marsh was unfortunately run out for 99, whilst attempting to run the single required for his maiden test ton, but apart from that, it was slow scoring and a very un-enthralling session at the MCG.

Australia | 9/318 dec (98)
Harris | c Dhoni, b Shami | 21 (68) | FOW 8/303 (93.4)
Marsh | run out (Kohli) | 99 (215) | FOW 9/317 (97)
Lyon | 1* (10)
Hazlewood | 0* (3)

Each of the Indian bowlers picked up two wickets each, but now the job would be in the hands of the batsmen, and it was do or die… India needed a win to stay alive in the series.

India were set the Target of 384 for Victory, and if they were to pull it off, it would’ve been the biggest successful fourth innings chase at the MCG, but the asking rate was 5.48 an over.

It didn’t start well for India… they were 2/5 in 14 balls… Harris and Johnson were on fire from the start, and Dhawan and Rahul were sent packing, Dhawan without troubling the scorers, and Rahul for 1.

It was 3/19 when Murali Vijay was dismissed for 11, and Australia were right on top, and it was all happening at the MCG!

With that, kohli and Rahane were back together, on the pitch where they ran a muck two days ago!

At first, it looked like the two were intent on batting out the game, ensuring the draw, and ensuring that India couldn’t be whitewashed.

But, Australia had other ideas, and with the first ball after Tea, Ryan Harris got the wicket of Virat Kohli, and it was 4/104.

Pujara contributed 21 before being dismissed, and the removal of Rahane gave Australia some hope of winning the Test.

But, that hope was short lived, as Dhoni and Ashwin saw out the remaining overs, and the game was called off four overs from time, on a rather slow day of Test Match Cricket.

India | 6/174 (TARGET: 384)
Dhawan | LBW, b Harris | 0 (5) | FOW 1/2 (1.2)
Rahul | c Watson, b Johnson | 1 (5) | FOW 2/5 (2.2)
Vijay | LBW, b Hazlewood | 11 (28) | FOW 3/19 (8.1)
Kohli | c Burns, b Harris | 54 (99) | 4/104 (34.1)
Pujara | b Johnson | 21 (70) | FOW 5/141 (51)
Rahane | c Marsh, b Hazlewood | 48 (117) | FOW 6/142 (55)
Dhoni | 24* (39)
Ashwin | 8* (34)

Ryan Harris was named the Man of the Match for an all-round brilliant performance with Bat and Ball.

So, with that, Australia seal the series, and reclaim the Border-Gavaskar Trophy… India were batted out of that game, by a quality Australian team… who would’ve loved a 4-0 win, but will settle for having the trophy back in the cabinet!

We’re off the Sydney for the Pink Test, the New Year Test, and the Final Test of the Summer… Virat Kohli will lead India, and Steve Smith’s men will be looking to keep India winless for the series.

We’ll be with you (Internet Gods willing) from 9:30am AEDST next Tuesday, the 6th of January in 2015…

Hope you enjoyed it… From the Melbourne Cricket Ground… Happy New Year to you all… Goodnight!

Leave a Comment