Clarke To Lead 17-Man Australian Squad In Quest To Retain The Urn

Clarke To Lead 17-Man Australian Squad In Quest To Retain The Urn

Michael Clarke is fit, and ready for the contest, that is the jewel in the crown as far as Test Cricket is concerned, The Ashes.

Clarke will lead the team to England, as they look to win an Ashes series on English soil, for the first time since 2001!

The team that took on India in Australia last summer has been selected, along with Shaun Marsh, Fawad Ahmed, Adam Voges and Peter Nevill, who is a new inclusion.

Voges was a standout performer in Australia’s recent 2-0 Test series win over the West Indies, as they retained the Sir Frank Worrell Trophy.

Michael Clarke (c)
Steven Smith (vc)
Fawad Ahmed
Brad Haddin
Josh Hazlewood
Ryan Harris
Mitchell Johnson
Nathan Lyon
Mitchell Marsh
Shaun Marsh
Peter Nevill
Chris Rogers
Peter Siddle
Mitchell Starc
Adam Voges
David Warner
Shane Watson.

England, meanwhile, have confirmed that the following players are in their training squad.

Alastair Cook will captain the side once more, with Joe Root his deputy.

England are fresh off a series against New Zealand, where they won the only Twenty20 contest, drew the Test Series 1-all, and won the ODI series, 3-2.

England (training squad)
Alastair Cook (c)
Joe Root (vc)
Moeen Ali
James Anderson
Gary Ballance
Ian Bell
Stuart Broad
Jos Buttler
Steven Finn
Mark Footitt
Adam Lyth
Liam Plunkett
Ben Stokes
Mark Wood

Australia’s tour gets underway tonight, with a tour match against Kent, ahead of the 1st Test in Cardiff on July 8.

Leave a Comment