Community Broadcasters to Carry Formula Vee National Challenge.

Community Broadcasters to Carry Formula Vee National Challenge.

The annual Australian Formula Vee National Challenge heads to Queensland in 2019, with Queensland Raceway playing host to the event for just the second time.

The National Challenge has been the signature event of the Formula Vee season schedule since 1973, with the 2019 edition marking the eighth time Queensland has played host to the meeting.

The September 13-15 event at Willowbank’s Queensland Raceway, which will attract Formula Vee competitors from all over Australia, has received an added boost, with radio stations in New South Wales and Queensland now set to cover the event for the first time.

Bathurst-based Community Radio station, 2MCE, and Ipswich-based online community station, West Bremer Radio will carry delayed coverage of the event, which headlines Queensland Raceways September meeting – Event 5 of the 2019 Queensland Racing Drivers Championship.

2MCE has been servicing the Central West of New South Wales since 1976, and Motorsport has been a big part of their portfolio, particularly in the last decade.

In recent years, the station has covered a Wakefield 300 (2016), two New South Wales Production Touring Car Championships, the 2017 and 2019 Queensland rounds of the Australian Formula Ford Championship, and the 2017 Queensland Production Car Championship, along with comprehensive programming from the SuperCheap Auto Bathurst 1000, the Liqui Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, and the Hi-Tec Oils Bathurst 6 Hour.

West Bremer Radio is an online station, still very much in its infancy, and still establishing its footprint in the Ipswich community. The inclusion of some local Motorsport content adds to the growing variety of programming the station offers seven days a week.
West Bremer Radio’s first Motorsport broadcast was May’s Australian Formula Ford Championship round, at Queensland Raceway.

With both stations offering online streaming of their on-air broadcast, Vee fans from all over the world will be able to enjoy the two-day broadcast from the Sunshine State.

Produced and distributed by Zak Sports Media, the coverage will be anchored by Zak Caban, with commentary from Caban, and his Queensland Raceways colleague, Mark Jones.

With the 2019 National SERIES behind them, the attention of the Formula Vee fraternity now turns to the annual National CHALLENGE.

This year, the 3.12km Queensland Raceway circuit plays host to the event – the first time it’s been held at the Willowbank venue since 2001, and the first time Queensland has held the event since 2013.

With four long straights, and only six turns, it’s the perfect circuit for Formula Vee racing.
Expect a tight contest, between the top contenders, as a slipstreaming battle ignites across all four races on the program.

Michael Kinsella, the 2019 National Series champion, is the two-time defending winner of the 1600cc National Challenge.

In the 1200cc class, Matthew Pearce is the defending National Challenge winner, while Richard Gray was victorious in this year’s National Series.

As an added bonus, on what is a massive weekend of Motorsport, the broadcast will also include full coverage of the Track Attack Australia Excel Cup, and the MoComm/Massel Australia QLD Production Car Championship.

In only its third season, the Queensland Production Car Championship has become the fastest growing category in the state.
A field featuring seven different classes, and nine different manufacturers will contest a mix of sprint and endurance races at this event, including a 60-minute race under lights on the Saturday night – the first night race for the category since October 2017.

As things stand, heading into this, the third of five championship rounds in 2019, there are seven different manufacturers represented in the top seven, from five different classes, in the outright standings, with the Class D Ford Fiesta of David Homer leading the way, from the Class E Mazda 6 of Adam Talbert, and the Class D Toyota 86 of Andrew Wilton.

Hyundai Excel racing has fast become a fan favourite in Australian Motorsport circles, and the Sunshine State is the spiritual home of the one-make series.
In fact, it’s so popular in Queensland, that there are TWO categories for the little Korean pocket rocket.

The September outing at Queensland Raceway – the sixth of eight rounds in the 2019 Track Attack Australia Excel Cup – will feature the first of two endurance races this season, and some well credentialed drivers are taking part, including TCR Australia racer Will Brown, defending, and four-time series champion Brett Parrish, current points leader Scott Green, the defending X3 series champion, Frank Mammarella, and Kumho Super3 Series driver, Broc Feeney.

Like Formula Vee, the Excel Cup is known for its tight pack-like racing, and close finishes… expect no different this time out.

West Bremer Sport and 2MCE Sport will air over ten hours of coverage, with qualifying and all races, in all three categories, airing commercial free.
Tune into 2MCE via 92.3 FM in Bathurst, 94.7 FM in Orange, or anywhere else via 2mce.org.
Tune into West Bremer Radio via westbremerradio.com.au, or the ‘West Bremer Radio’ app.

2019 Formula Vee National Challenge
2MCE Sport
Tuesday September 17
10pm AEST | 9:30pm ACST | 8pm AWST

Wednesday September 18
11pm AEST | 10:30pm ACST | 9pm AWST

West Bremer Sport
Saturday September 21 & Sunday September 22
12pm AEST | 11:30am ACST | 10am AWST.

Leave a Comment

(required)

(required)