Inaugural Production Touring Queensland Schedule Unveiled.

Inaugural Production Touring Queensland Schedule Unveiled.

Lakeside and Night Racing at QR the Features of Inaugural Schedule.

13570025_10154347406764511_1270653926_oAfter months of planning and preparation, the calendar for the inaugural Queensland Production Touring Car Endurance Championship was officially announced today, and it is a beauty.

As previously reported, the championship races will be contested at the iconic Lakeside International Raceway and Queensland Raceway at Ipswich.

There will be four races, across three events, in the inaugural season, with those four races evenly split between the two Queensland Raceways venues.

13548717_10154347374684511_300411841_oThe opening two rounds will be contested at Lakeside Raceway, while the champions will be crowned after a two-race weekend at “the paperclip” at the end of October.

The President of the Queensland Production Touring Car Championship, Gerry Murphy, has worked closely with John Tetley, the circuit manager of Queensland Raceways, and his staff, to produce a terrific calendar that will see the category launch with a bang on April 1, 2017.

13323847_10154248386464511_1140388336_oThat Saturday is one to look forward to, as all the build up, the hard work, planning and preparation that’s gone into getting this series up and running will be rewarded, as cars and drivers head out on track for the first time in the Queensland Production Touring Car Championship.

Lakeside will play host to a rare single-day event for the category, with the one-hour race to be held late Saturday afternoon.

Round 2 will have a State of Origin feel to it, as the Queensland Championship will combine with its NSW counterparts for a one-hour race at Lakeside on June 3-4.

13313569_10154248726104511_542708866_oFor the NSW Championship, the race will be the first enduro of the season, in fact, the first of three consecutive events in the 2017 MoComm Cup.

For the QLD Championship, a unique opportunity to see how they fair against drivers who’ve been running this formula for many, many years.

The Lakeside events will feature as part of Rounds 1 and 3 of the 2017 Queensland Racing Driver Championship series.

The finale at Queensland Raceway will feature as part of the annual Ipswich Classic, and will be one for the history books as well.

On Saturday October 28, race 1 of the 2-race championship weekend, will be held under the lights at “The Paperclip”.

The championship will conclude with a second one-hour race on the Sunday.

13324280_10154248386629511_1785406767_oAlong with the release of the 2017 schedule comes the news that long-time supporter of the NSW Championship, Bilstein Australia will be the naming rights sponsor of the 2017 Queensland Production Touring Car Endurance Championship.

In releasing the calendar, President Murphy said: “Our view is that Touring Cars should be doing Endurance racing.”

Each race will include a compulsory pit-stop, while the option remains for teams to run one or two drivers in those races – in the last four NSW races held over that distance, they’ve all been won by Mitsubishi Evo’s, but two have been won by a solo entry, and two have been won by a combination.

The Queensland Championship is fast establishing itself as the place to be in 2017. In recent weeks, Murphy has confirmed that Garry Hawgood will join the series as the Technical Director, and Mike O’Dea will be the Competitor Liason, joining Karl Begg, who was the first to join Murphy on the QLDPTC committee.

2017 Bilstein Australia Queensland PTC Endurance Championship Calendar
Round 1 Saturday April 1 Lakeside International Raceway Single Day Event
Round 2 June 3-4 Lakeside International Raceway NSW/QLD Round
Round 3 October 28-29 Queensland Raceway Saturday Night + Sunday Enduro


Leave a Comment