Production Cars set for Night Spectacular

Production Cars set for Night Spectacular

For the first time in 2019, the Queensland Production Car Championship will race for championship points at Queensland Raceway this weekend, with the Willowbank circuit playing host to rounds three AND four of the season.

In a double-header weekend, the MoComm Sprint Championship will conclude on Saturday, with two races on the 2.14km Clubman Circuit, before the Massel Australia Endurance Cup gets underway for 2019, with two one-hour races on the 3.12km National Circuit across the rest of the weekend, with the opening race under lights on Saturday night – the first night fixture for the category since October, 2017.

So big is this event, that Qualifying for both rounds will take place on Friday afternoon.
At 4:30pm, the regular championship combatants will take to the ‘Clubman Circuit’, to sort out the grid for round 3 of the MoComm Sprint Cup.
Then, at 5pm, a two-part session, on the National Circuit, will see all drivers take to the circuit, in Qualifying for Round 1 of the Massel Australia Endurance Cup.

The outright championship is being led by David Homer, in the Class D Ford Fiesta ST. He sits sixteen points clear of the Class E Mazda of Adam Talbert, and the Toyota 86 entry of Andrew Wilton – also in Class D.

In all, seven different manufacturers fill the top seven positions on the outright points table, and six of the seven classes are represented inside the top ten.

This weekend’s twenty-three car field features no less than TEN different manufacturers, and a tremendous line-up of drivers.

2017 NSW MoComm Cup Champion, Mark Caine, returns to Queensland, to share driving duties with his good mate, the QLD Production Car President, Gerry Murphy.

2018 Aussie Driver Search Pro Class winner, Matt Powers, will add some international flavour to the event, as he joins forces with Anthony Levitt, in the Class C Renault Clio.

Young Victorian, Jaylyn Robotham – best known for his exploits in the Toyota 86 Racing Series – will be teaming up with Andrew Wilton this weekend, in a Toyota 86 rather appropriately.

There’s a whole host of 86’s lining up this weekend – five of them, in fact, with the most notable one being Lea Medhurst, who combined with Chris Manley to win the Outright Championship in 2018.
Elsewhere, New South Wales competitor Edan Thornburrow is making the long trek north this weekend, to try his luck against his Queensland counterparts.

Championship leader, David Homer, has experienced endurance racer, Lindsay Kearns on-board for this round, while Ashley Herrernan teams up with Daniel Clift.

Former series regular Troy Rolley returns to the paddock, as a co-driver to Bruce Forsyth this weekend. They’ll line up in Forsyth’s Subaru BRZ.

Three Queensland Touring Car Championship regulars feature in the field as well. Gary Anger will team up with Damien Drew, in the Class E BMW E46, while Steve Hay and Bayley Hall are teaming up in a Renault Megane, as they set their sights on a crack at the 2020 Bathurst 6 Hour.

Robert Gooley and Wade Scott are back on the grid, but not as a pair. Gooley will team-up with Maika Terhost in the Mitsubishi Evo X, while Wade Scott has engaged the services of TJ Hurford (Improved Production), for this weekend, and they’ll be in Scott’s Evo VIII.

Winners of the 2017 QPC ‘Dancing in the Dark’ fixture, Karl Begg and Justin Anthony return in the almighty Mercedes C63 AMG.

In a first for the category, the A1 and A2 class cars, as well as the B1 and B2 class entries, will be combined into single ‘A’ and ‘B’ divisions for this round.

In all, there’ll be NINE on-track sessions for the Queensland Production Car Championship this weekend – two Friday afternoon Qualifying sessions, two MoComm Sprint Cup races on Saturday morning, before the Night Masters after sunset, ahead of a very busy Sunday, which commences with the morning warm-up, ahead of Driver ‘A’ and ‘B’ sprint races, and the second one-hour enduro just after lunch.

2019 QLD Production Car Championship | Points after Round 2 of 6

Position Driver Class Manufacturer Points
1 David Homer D Ford 219
2 Adam Talbert E Mazda 203
3 Andrew Wilton D Renault 203
4 Karlie Buccini C BMW 195
5 John Carter A2 Holden 187
Class Leaders
7 Robert Gooley A1 Mitsubishi 182
9 Gerry Murphy B2 Holden 176
16 Nathan Townsend B1 Ford 141

The Queensland Production Car Championship is proudly sponsored by: MoComm Motorsport Communications, Massel Australia,, Evoke Realty,, Btuned – Euro Specialist, Exclusive Wraps and Loc8te.

Leave a Comment