Season of Endurance commences in the Darling Downs.

Season of Endurance commences in the Darling Downs.

After a successful season launch at Queensland Raceway, just a fortnight ago, the Queensland Production Car Championship heads further inland this weekend, for the opening, and shortest endurance round of the season, at Warwick’s Morgan Park Raceway.

The second of the six-round campaign is just one of two, 2-day events in the 2020 campaign, with a field of 25 cars lining up for the four-race program, including the first endurance races of the year, as the countdown to the 2020 Willowbank 300 ramps up.

While the field is slightly smaller than that from the opening round, there’s increased manufacturer representation this weekend, with Scott Dean lining up in the Mercedes Benz A45, within Class A1

Endurance racing means the addition of co-drivers to the field, for the first time this season, but as they’re not mandatory, only ten entries will run a two-driver line-up this weekend.

Two of those two-driver entries feature in the new outright class, Class X.
Steve Burridge joins forces with Karl Begg, in the BMW M3. It’s not the first time these two have shared a drive in this championship. Burridge was Begg’s co-driver in the 2017 ‘State of Origin’ meeting, at Lakeside Park.

In the Beric Lynton BMW stable, Tristian and Dalton Ellery join forces in the car that Tristian piloted two weeks ago, while Beric Lynton flies solo. Lynton, of course, leads the championship, but only by three points, over Begg, after the opening four races of the campaign.

In Class A1 this weekend, Scott Dean will be joined by the Mitsubishi Evo entries of Scott Green – the current points leader in this class – and the combination of Robert Gooley and Maika Torhurst.
Wade Scott is an omission from this round, after sustaining damage to his Evo, during the wet-dry opening round.

In Class A2, Colbey Cowham – who’s teaming up with Lindsay Kearns this weekend – in the Ford Mustang, will be looking to extend his points lead, over the BMW of Brad Carr.
The Holden flag will be flown by both Daniel Clift (VZ Clubsport) and John Carter (VF Clubsport).

In Class B2, the former category president, Gerry Murphy, will be hoping to build on his strong start to the season. Murphy, in the Craig Lowndes special edition VF SSV, won all four races in the opening round, to amass an early lead over Patrick Navin (Nissan 370z) in the race for class honours. Once again, they are the only two competitors in Class B2.

Class C is ultra-competitive, yet again. It’s here that we find our current outright championship leader, in Paul Keefer. He’s driving solo this weekend, in one of three Volkswagen Scirocco’s in this field. Robin and Peter Lacey will share driving duties, as will James Hay and Paul Ansell, in the other two Scirocco entries.

Elsewhere, after sustaining damage in the opening round, Paul Buccini’s BMW 130i will miss this round, but Paul himself will be on-track at Morgan Park, teaming up with Karlie in the second of the BMW 130i’s in the Buccini stable.

No less than nine cars will contest Class C this weekend – the biggest field within the field – and within that, six different manufacturers, and fifteen drivers – six of the ten co-driver pairings in this weekend’s field.

Former Queensland Touring Car Championship competitor Mitchell Wooller features within that co-driver contingent – sharing driving duties with Tim McDonald, in the BMW M3 E36.

After a difficult opening round, in which he was unable to finish the opening two races, Anthony Levitt is hoping for a turnaround in fortunes this weekend, and joining him for the ride will be Jason Simes.

Elsewhere, Frank Mammarella returns, in the Hyundai i30N, Paul Hibberd lines up in his Mazda RX8, and Nicholas and Benjamin McLeod join the field, lining up in the Holden Astra.

In Class D, it’s a two-car showdown, with Murray Dowsett (Subaru BRZ) taking on Mitchell Maddren (Toyota 86). Championship leader, David Homer, will miss this round.

Finally, in Class E, it’s the Suzuki Swift of Steve McHugh taking on the Mazda 6 of Adam Talbert, and it’s the latter who currently holds bragging rights in this class.

The four-race program is headlined by the opening two endurances races of the season, with a 1-hour race taking place on Saturday afternoon, and a 40-minute race following on Sunday morning.

Sadly, due to restrictions imposed by COVID-19, this event is taking place behind closed doors, with no spectators permitted. Queensland Motorsport fans can stay up-to-date with everything happening in Warwick, by following the action through Speedhive/MyLaps.

The 2020 Queensland Production Car Championship is proudly presented by: Motorsport CommunicationMassel AustraliaB-Tuned Euro SpecialistLoc8teUltimate Diesel TuningBOSS Surveillance Systems, and Evoke Realty.

Leave a Comment